General View

The story of U’qbah ibn Abi Mu’eet and Nadr bin Abi Harith the Blasphemers during the battle of Badr

The Messenger of Allah (peace and blessings of Allah be upon him) treated these people (U’qbah ibn Abi Mu’eet and Nadr bin Abi Harith the Blasphemers) differently and it is very clear! So let’s read their story……..

In the battle of Badr, there were seventy prisoners of war from the disbelievers of Quraysh. The Messenger of Allah (peace and blessings of Allah be upon him) asked  that they be presented to him, so that he would look at them one by one.
The Messenger of Allah (peace and blessings of Allah be upon him) was starring at Nadr bin Harith. Nadr bin Harith looked in to the eyes of the Messenger of Allah (peace and blessings of Allah be upon him) and saw something, so he told the man next to him, “Listen, I am going to be killed, I can see death in the eyes of the Messenger of Allah!”
The man told him “No, you are just exaggerating, you are too afraid, you are just terrified!”
He said “No, I am telling you, I saw death in the eyes of the Messenger of Allah (peace and blessings of Allah be upon him)”.
Then Nadr bin Hartih called Mus’ab bin U’mayr who was his relative and he told him “Go to the Messenger of Allah (peace and blessings of Allah be upon him) and tell him to treat me like everybody else, treat me like a man from my people, if he is going to kill them then let him kill me, if he is going to forgive them let him forgive me!”.
Mus’ab bin U’mayr told him “You are the one who said what you have said about the Messenger of Allah (peace and blessings of Allah be upon him) and you are the one who spoke against the Book of Allah!”
Nadr bin Harith was the one who used to hold the Halaqa next to the Messenger of Allah (peace and blessings of Allah be upon him) to compete with him. He traveled to Persia to learn stories and then he came back and told the disbelievers “Muhammad (peace and blessings of Allah be upon him) is telling you tales, I have some better tales to tell you, come and listen to me!”
He told him “Please Mus’ab speak to the Messenger of Allah (peace and blessings of Allah be upon him)”
He said, “Aren’t you the one who used to torture his companions!”
The Messenger of Allah (peace and blessings of Allah be upon him) called Nadr bin Harith and told Ali bin Abi Talib to execute him. 

He was singled out!

At that time they were traveling back to Madina. When they reached a particular area he executed Nadr bin Harith and then when they traveled a little further he summoned U’qbah ibn Abi Mu’eet for execution.
Uqbah said “Woe onto me, why am I singled out for execution! All of the men here with me are your enemies; all the men here with me have fought you, all of the men  with me are from Quraysh my tribe, why are you singling me out?
The Messenger of Allah (peace and blessings of Allah be upon him) said,
   “Because of your animosity towards Allah and his Messenger!”
He said “O Muhammad treat me as one of my people, if you execute them execute me, if you free them free me, if you take compensation for their freedom then take what you want from me!” and then he said “O Muhammad who will take care of my children?
The Messenger of Allah (peace and blessings of Allah be upon him) said,
“Hell-fire! Take him O A’sim and cut off his head!”
And then the Messenger of Allah (peace and blessings of Allah be upon him) said,
“What an evil man you were! I don’t know of a man who was a disbeliever in Allah and his Book and his Messenger like you! You harmed the Prophet of Allah, so I praise Allah the one who killed you and the one who has pleased my eyes by seeing you die!”

Standard

Leave a Reply

